Art ‘n’ August – 1

Art  ‘n’  August – 1.

New York, August 1, 2013. An acrylic, ink and paper painting/collage I had made earlier. Ici. It was a quick one – took about a couple of hours. (You can click twice to zoom in for paint and texture details). Since the blazing summer sun of August has been pulverizing the city, the work is named Áine’s Quilt, Áine being the Gaelic goddess most associated with the sun, or “brightness/joy/radiance/splendorous glory.” In Gaelic mythology, Áine represents the light half of the year and the bright summer sun (an ghrian mhór), and Grian the dark half of the year and the pale winter sun (an ghrian bheag). Which means I’ll now have to paint Grian’s Blanket at some point in the later half of the year as a companion piece…..

Áine's Quilt. (Ink & Acrylic) ©Maddy, 2013.

Áine’s Quilt. (Ink & Acrylic) ©Maddy, 2013. (Click to zoom)

..

I was wondering after I made the painting, why I picked those particular colors while drawing a metaphorical image of heat, summer and a Gaelic goddess. I then remembered that subconsciously, perhaps, the colors of an image I had taken in Dublin, Ireland in 2009, had seeped through my memories and found a way through the paint palette. While making the above painting, I was also listening to some lively Celtic music. The photo’s inserted below. Strange how art and music can express our subconscious synapses, dreams or connections better than language ever can…..

Dublin, Ireland, an evening in July 2009, before a U2 concert (which I did not attend). Photo uploaded here exactly as I clicked it - no retouching. Really.

Dublin, Ireland, an evening in July 2009, before a U2 concert (which I did not attend). Photo uploaded here exactly as I clicked it – no retouching. Really.

.

Strangely, since this morning, I can’t seem to get Erik Satie’s piano compositions out of my head, especially his sparse, contemplative and singularly elegant Gnossienne No. 3. Here goes, and you’re welcome :)

.

Leave a Reply

